Utah House endorses making Utah DUI laws the nation’s toughest

The Utah House voted Thursday to make Utah the first state in the nation to lower its legal limit for driving under the influence to a 0.05 blood-alcohol content (BAC) — which an average man could reach at three drinks, and a female at two.

Read more “Utah House endorses making Utah DUI laws the nation’s toughest”

Utah House passes bill allowing 18-year-olds to conceal carry

ST. GEORGE – A bill that would allow 18- to 20-year-olds to carry a concealed firearm passed the Utah House Tuesday following ardent debate. The primary argument for the bill is that it will give young adults a much better means of defending against sexual violence, particularly on college and university campuses.

Read more at St George News here

Utah DUI Laws, Fines & Jail

What are the penalties for a DUI in Utah?

1st Offense 2nd Offense 3rd Offense
Jail 48 hours min. 240 hours min. 1,500 hours min.
Fines and Penalties $700 min. $800 min. $1,500 min.
License Suspension 120 days 2 years 2 years
IID** Required No Yes Yes

Lookback Period: 10 years (Period of time that prior DUIs are relevant for sentencing. Also known as a “washout” period.)

Read more “Utah DUI Laws, Fines & Jail”